Blake leads Anglican awards


Blake leads Anglican awards

01 Feb 2018 

Garth Blake SC, a key figure in developing safe ministry policies for the Anglican Church of Australia, has been made a member of the Order of Australia (AM) in the 2018 Australia Day honours. Mr Blake has chaired the Professional Standards Commission since 2005 and chaired the Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, Working Group, since 2012.  He has served on both the General Synod and Sydney Synod since the 1990s. He was Diocesan Advocate from 1995 to 2003 and has also been involved in human rights, Episcopal Standards and Freedom of Religion working groups. Mr Blake was made a member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to the Anglican Church of Australia, particularly to child protection policy and professional standards, and to the law.

Four Anglicans were made Officers of the Order of Australia. They were Mr Ian David Darling of Sydney for distinguished service to documentary film production, to the performing arts, education and community engagement and to social welfare organisations through philanthropic endeavours; Mr Andrew Gordon Michelmore of Melbourne for distinguished service to the mining industry through leadership roles in establishing trade and investment links and in resource sector standards of practice on environmental and safety issues; Emeritus Professor Ingrid Moses of Canberra for distinguished service to higher education through senior academic management positions in Australian universities and to a range of community and church organisations; and Mr Ian Lyall Robertson of Sydney for distinguished service to the arts, particularly the Australian film industry as a patron and benefactor, and to the law.

Four Anglicans were awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM).

The Reverend Paul Thomas Bland of Brisbane was honoured for service to education, and to the Anglican Church of Australia. Father Bland has given lifelong service to schools in both the State and Church school sectors. He has contributed greatly to rural and regional Queensland, as well as to schools in Brisbane. He has also contributed to policy development in Anglican schools in professional conferences and associations, and recently retired as chair of the Council of Coomera Anglican College.

Associate Professor Julian Rait, chairman of Melbourne-based Anglican Overseas Aid for the past six years, has been recognised for service to ophthalmology – the diagnosis and management of disorders of the eye and visual system by medical specialists – and to the development of overseas aid. He has spent much of his career working on blindness prevention in developing countries. A member of Diocesan Council since 2013, Associate Professor Rait served on Vestry at St Dunstan’s Camberwell from 2002-10 and was Vicar’s Warden at St John’s Camberwell from 2011-13.

The Rev. Dr David Claydon  of Sydney was honoured for service to the Anglican Church of Australia, to interfaith relations and to refugees. A Canon Emeritus of St Andrew’s Cathedral, Dr Claydon served as International Director of the Lausanne Committee for World Evangelisation ( Lausanne Movement) from 2002-2004 and has been a senior adviser from 2004. He also chairs the Dealing with Diversity Conference, which comprises heads of churches from a range of denominations which meet with Federal politicians to inform them about value-based religions which have come to Australia with migrants. He also chairs the Persecuted Minorities Advocacy and Integration Committee of the Barnabas Fund.

The Rev. Francis Xavier Sheehan was honoured for service to the Anglican Church of Australia, and to the community, having served as Senior Canon at St George’s Cathedral, Perth from 2006 to 2015, as chaplain of Christ Church Grammar School, Claremont, as a producer and contributor for ABC Radio in Perth and as director of the Centre for Ethics since 1996.